Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Larc_in_WA

Is the Forum still active? Chrome not compatible?

I am a newbie to Droid boxes and its workings. Salesman that sold me the ATV495Max had me believe that it works like a Android on your TV.

How ever trying to install or even finding Chrome is impossible. 

See attached image why. Is there a step by step guide how to overcome this please.

it seems very limited. i for instance can not find any way from going incognito

Puffin browser is not linked to my Google account .

Chrome not compatible with ATV 495 Max.PNG

Incognito.PNG

You can sideload it as well as the chrome browser.

It does work but you need an air mouse or a regular wireless usb mouse to use it.

to sideload you need to switch on allow unknown sources and turn off verify apps in the security settings.

what I did is I used an app called send files to tv on both my box and cellphone.

Install the app total commander on your phone. It has an installed apps tab.

you can copy the apk from your phone using that.

Google Chrome is an app NOT optimized for Android TV at the moment, I heard it's because Google is concern about potential privacy issues, that's why there is not a Google Photos app either.

20 hours ago, joels said:

You can sideload it as well as the chrome browser.

It does work but you need an air mouse or a regular wireless usb mouse to use it.

to sideload you need to switch on allow unknown sources and turn off verify apps in the security settings.

what I did is I used an app called send files to tv on both my box and cellphone.

Install the app total commander on your phone. It has an installed apps tab.

you can copy the apk from your phone using that.

Hi joels thanks for the response. Can you please explain the sideload process and how to, if possible, maybe a link that will explain in laymen s terms what to do. Very new to this. Thanks for the tip on Total commander .